Stefanie Tsakona, update

Posted on September 26, 2016

0


What has changed since the last interview 2 years ago?

 last interview here

Since October 2013, my life has changed completely. I have stopped choreographing and I am now writing and directing plays. I wrote a children’s play ‘The magic history of books’. It deals with the history of books from the first findings (the first ever books were clay slates in cuneiform writing in Mesopotamia) and up to e-books. I also directed it and and now I am preparing another one, but this time not for children. I have also become a DJ for obvious financial reasons. I am quite pessimistic regarding dance in Greece. I have lost my passion for it, I still teach dance but mostly professionals. I no longer teach amateurs, I grew tired of teaching people who don’t have a specific goal hence don’t sufficiently concentrate on this work.

 

Do you consider your work Greek?

I am half Greek, half German but because I grew up in Greece I consider myself Greek.

 

Is there a Greek dance scene, do you recognise specific characteristics?

I believe that the language of dance is international. Of course, it could be that the subject is related to Greece somehow-for example the piece I did based on Tsamikos (traditional, popular folk Greek dance) which was part of a trilogy titled ‘Peri Psyches’ (About the soul, just like the treatise by Aristotle). While this particular piece was called «Euthymia» (happiness, good humour), another piece ‘Ideograms’ (literally meaning ideas in letters) started off as a performance and then became a dance piece: this piece dealt with the December 2008 Athens riots (after A. Grigoropoulos was shot by a policeman) and I also used popular music by D. Mitropanos. These works are Greek , with Greek characteristics or starting points, but I believe that it is only through content that you can say something is Greek, otherwise dance is international.

Thank you. 

 

